Skip Navigation
Texas Counties Deliver

County Commissioners

Precinct 1: Steve Riley

Office Address: No barn address at this time
Mailing Address: PO Box 3067, Albany, TX 76430

Precinct 2: Larry Cauble

Office Address: 821 N Hwy 283, Albany, TX
Mailing Address: PO Box 3067, Albany, TX 76430

Precinct 3: Lanham Martin

Office Address: 110 Fisher Street, Moran, TX
Mailing Address: PO Box 3067, Albany, TX 76430
Phone: No phone at this time

Precinct 4: Cody Jordan

Office Address: 100 CR 241, Lueders, TX
Mailing Address: PO Box 2405, Lueders, TX 79533

Commissioners Court

The County Judge and the County Commissioners make up the Commissioners Court. They meet twice monthly, on the second and last (fourth Mondays to deliberate and decide the business of Shackelford County.

Check the Calendar for the time and location of the next Commissioners Court meeting.


Description of Office: County Commissioner

~ From the Texas Association of Counties ~

The job of the county commissioner calls for hands-on service delivery as well as policy-making budget decisions.

Four commissioners, each elected from a quarter of the county’s population, serve along with the county judge on the commissioners court. In addition to assuring that county roads are maintained, commissioners vote with the county judge to set the budget for all county departments and adopt a tax rate.

Among other responsibilities, the commissioners court:

  • Sets the yearly property tax rate and approves the budget and employment level for the county;
  • Sets commissioners and justice of the peace precinct boundaries;
  • Calls, conducts and certifies elections, including bond elections;
  • Sets employment and benefit policy;
  • Establishes long-range thoroughfare, open space, land use, financial and law enforcement/jail needs plans;
  • Acquires property for rights-of-way or other uses determined to be in the public’s best interest;
  • Reviews and approve subdivision platting and wastewater treatment for rural areas;
  • Provides rural ambulance services and subsidizes rural fire protection;
  • Oversees the construction, maintenance and improvement of county roads and bridges;
  • Appoints non-elected department heads and standing committees;
  • Supervises and controls the county courthouse, county buildings and facilities;
  • Adopts a county budget;
  • Determines county tax rates;
  • Fills vacancies in elective and appointive positions; and
  • Has exclusive authority to authorize contracts in the name of the county.

Copyright © {{YEAR}} {{COUNTY}} {{STATE}}

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM